iPhone Ultra / iPhone Fold: Specs from Apple's 9 Sep Event
Live-updating from Apple's 9 September keynote. Confirmed dimensions, weight, camera island and MagSafe details for Apple's foldable — and what each one means for whether a case will fit.
Editorial
Live page — updating during the keynote
Apple announces its first foldable iPhone on Wednesday 9 September 2026. Nothing on this page is confirmed yet. Every figure below is currently reported or expected, and is clearly marked as such.
We will replace each row with Apple's official specification within a few hours of the keynote, and add the case-fit analysis that actually matters. Bookmark this page, or join the waitlist below and we will email you once the real numbers are in.
We design cases for folding phones. When a new foldable is announced, the first thing we do is pull the dimensions and work out what fits. This page is that process, done in public.
By Priya Nair · FoldifyCase foldable case design team · Published 31 August 2026 · Next update: 9 September
What Apple has actually confirmed
Apple sent invitations on 26 August. These are the only facts currently official:
- Date and time: Wednesday 9 September 2026, 10:00 PT.
- Venue: Steve Jobs Theater, Apple Park, Cupertino.
- Tagline: "Surprise and shine".
- How to watch: free on Apple's website, Apple's YouTube channel, and the Apple TV app. No registration.
- Who is presenting: this is the first keynote led by John Ternus, who became Apple's CEO on 1 September.
Apple has not confirmed the device name, the specifications, the price, or the launch markets.
When the keynote starts where you are
| Region | Local start time |
|---|---|
| Cupertino (PT) | Wed 9 Sep, 10:00 |
| New York (ET) | Wed 9 Sep, 13:00 |
| London (BST) | Wed 9 Sep, 18:00 |
| Berlin (CEST) | Wed 9 Sep, 19:00 |
| Sydney / Melbourne (AEST) | Thu 10 Sep, 03:00 |
| Perth (AWST) | Thu 10 Sep, 01:00 |
| Auckland (NZST) | Thu 10 Sep, 05:00 |
| Tokyo (JST) | Thu 10 Sep, 02:00 |
If you are in Australia, the keynote runs in the small hours. Rather than staying up, join the list below — we will send the confirmed case-relevant specs once we have measured them against what we know.
Launch-day specs, emailed
Get the confirmed numbers
One email after the keynote with the real dimensions, the real price, and our honest read on what will actually fit. No spam, no renders.
The spec table — what we are waiting to fill in
These are the ten figures that decide whether a case fits. The "Expected" column is what credible reporting currently suggests. The "Confirmed" column stays empty until Apple says it on stage.
| Specification | Expected (reported) | Confirmed (9 Sep) | Why it matters for a case |
|---|---|---|---|
| Official name | iPhone Ultra (unsettled) | — | Determines what you should search for when buying |
| Folded dimensions | ~5.5in cover display | — | The single most important number. A case wraps the closed device |
| Unfolded dimensions | ~7.8in inner display | — | Sets the two-piece case geometry |
| Closed thickness | not reported | — | Decides pocketability once a case is added |
| Weight | not reported | — | Governs how much protection you can add before it becomes unpleasant |
| Camera island size and position | not reported | — | The most common cause of a case that "nearly" fits |
| Biometrics | Touch ID in the side button | — | A side sensor means the case cannot cover or thicken that button |
| MagSafe array | expected built in | — | Changes the case's job from adding magnets to not blocking them |
| Hinge design | not detailed | — | Determines how much spine clearance a case must leave |
| Price and markets | US$2,000–2,500 reported | — | Sets how much protection is proportionate |
Expected figures are drawn from mainstream reporting ahead of the event, listed in Sources below. They are not Apple statements and several may be wrong.
The benchmark we will measure against
To make the numbers meaningful the moment they land, here is the current reference point — Samsung's two 2026 foldables, with confirmed specifications.
| Galaxy Z Fold 8 Ultra | Galaxy Z Fold 8 | Apple foldable | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Folded | 158.4 × 72.8 × 8.9 mm | 81.9 × 123.9 × 9.7 mm | TBC 9 Sep |
| Unfolded | 158.4 × 143.2 × 4.1 mm | 161.4 × 123.9 × 4.5 mm | TBC |
| Weight | 215 g | 201 g | TBC |
| Inner display | 8.0in | 7.6in (4:3) | ~7.8in expected |
| Cover display | 6.5in | 5.5in | ~5.5in expected |
| Magnets built in | No | No | Expected yes |
| From | US$2,099 | US$1,899 | TBC |
One number on that table is worth sitting with. The Galaxy Z Fold 8 Ultra and the Galaxy Z Fold 8 launched on the same day, from the same manufacturer, and their folded footprints share nothing: 158.4 × 72.8 mm against 81.9 × 123.9 mm. No case fits both.
That is the honest scale of the fit problem. If two Samsung foldables from one launch event need entirely separate tooling, an Apple foldable will need its own — and no existing case, from anyone, will fit it.
What we will publish once Apple confirms
Within a few hours of the keynote, this page becomes:
- The confirmed spec table — every row above, filled with Apple's official figures.
- A direct dimensional comparison against the Galaxy Z Fold 8 Ultra and Z Fold 8, so you can see exactly how different the object is.
- Our case-fit read — what the camera island, button placement and MagSafe array mean in practice, and which case styles are viable on this hardware.
- A blunt answer on timing — how long it realistically takes for properly fitted cases to exist, based on what we have watched happen with every Samsung foldable since 2022.
What to be sceptical of on launch day
Every foldable launch produces the same pattern, and Apple's will be larger than most:
- Cases listed within hours of the keynote. Nobody has measured the device. These are moulded from leaked CAD and frequently miss on the camera cutout.
- "Universal foldable" cases. There is no such product. Hinge geometry and camera layout are model-specific.
- Renders presented as photos. If the product images show a device Apple has not shown publicly, they are 3D renders.
- Claims that a Galaxy Z Fold case will fit. It will not.
The safest position on launch day is to buy nothing and wait for a case measured against a shipping unit. We cover the full checklist in what to look for in an iPhone Fold case.
Waitlist
Be told when a case actually fits
We measure every new foldable with calipers and publish what fits. Join and you will hear the moment there is a real answer — not a render.
Frequently asked questions
When is Apple's foldable iPhone announcement?
Wednesday 9 September 2026 at 10:00 PT, at the Steve Jobs Theater in Cupertino. That is Thursday 10 September at 03:00 AEST in Sydney and Melbourne, and 01:00 AWST in Perth. Apple confirmed the date on 26 August.
Is it called the iPhone Fold or the iPhone Ultra?
Apple has not said. Most reporting points to iPhone Ultra, while a large share of search traffic still uses iPhone Fold. Apple will settle the name on stage on 9 September. We use both here so this page is useful either way.
How can I watch the Apple event?
Free, with no registration, on Apple's website, Apple's YouTube channel and the Apple TV app.
Will any existing case fit Apple's foldable?
No. Case fit is decided by folded dimensions, hinge geometry, button placement and camera island position — all unique to each device. For scale, Samsung's own Galaxy Z Fold 8 Ultra folds to 158.4 × 72.8 × 8.9 mm while its Galaxy Z Fold 8 folds to 81.9 × 123.9 × 9.7 mm, and no case fits both despite launching the same day.
How soon will real iPhone foldable cases be available?
A properly fitted case requires measurements from a shipping device, so genuine cases follow release rather than precede it. Cases advertised before the phone reaches reviewers are moulded from leaked estimates. We will publish a realistic timeline once the hardware is confirmed.
Will Apple's foldable be available in Australia?
Apple has not confirmed launch markets. Australia has been in the first wave for every recent iPhone launch, so it is a reasonable expectation rather than a commitment. Apple normally publishes the market list during the keynote.
Sources
- MacRumors — Apple event announced for September 9: "Surprise and Shine"
- 9to5Mac — Apple officially announces iPhone 18 Pro and foldable event
- GSMArena — Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra full specifications
- GSMArena — Galaxy Z Fold8 full specifications
Related guides
- iPhone Fold cases: what to look for before the 9 September launch
- Will any case fit the iPhone Ultra? What the dimensions tell us
- iPhone Ultra vs Galaxy Z Fold 8: which should you buy?
- iPhone Fold or iPhone Ultra? What Apple will actually call it
- Galaxy Z Fold 8 and Z Fold 8 Ultra: confirmed specs and price
Our top pick · Galaxy Z Fold 7
Sentinel H1
From €69,95
Shop the Sentinel H1 →Browse all 11 Galaxy Z Fold 7 casesPriya Nair
Part of the FoldifyCase editorial team — covering Samsung Galaxy Z Fold, Z Flip, and foldable phone accessories.
Cases engineered
for the fold.
11 foldable-specialist designs — magnetic, hinge-cover, slim & S-Pen — each moulded to your exact model, not adapted from a slab-phone case.
Shop all 11 cases Swipe to explore →















